Interface utilisateur

De Hearts of Iron 4 FR Wiki
(Redirigé depuis User interface)
Aller à : navigation, rechercher

L'interface utilisateur de Hearts of Iron IV est immédiatement reconnaissable par les vétérans des jeux de stratégie Paradox. La gauche de l'écran sert à gérer les problèmes nationaux importants, tandis que les onglets d'alerte s'affichent en haut de l'écran et vous préviendront des événements nécessitant votre attention. La droite de l'écran est réservée aux informations sur vos troupes. La barre supérieure de l'écran comporte un résumé d'informations importantes sur la partie et l'état du monde.

Barre supérieure d'informations

En haut de l'écran de jeu principal, de la gauche jusqu'au centre, se trouve une ligne de nombres comprenant :

Unité nationale Unité nationale
L'unité nationale mesure la résolution de votre pays dans la guerre. Un pays avec une unité nationale faible se rendra plus rapidement que lorsqu'il possède une unité nationale élevée. L'unité nationale est déterminée par l'esprit national affectées à certains pays (la France, par exemple, commence avec une unité nationale très basse). Toutefois, ceci peut être modifié par les priorités nationales ou par le recrutement de membres du gouvernement.
Poids politique Poids politique
Le poids politique représente la quantité de capital politique accumulée par le gouvernement. Ce poids politique est dépensé pour définir des priorités nationales, recruter des conseillers militaires ou scientifiques, modifier les lois sur le commerce et la conscription, ou pour entreprendre certaines actions diplomatiques. Chaque nation reçoit 2 points de poids politique par jour, ce qui peut être modifié par certaines caractéristiques, certains personnages ou encore certaines actions du joueur.
Réserves Réserves
Les réserves représentent le nombre d'hommes disponibles pour créer et renforcer les unités militaires. Leur nombre dépend de plusieurs facteurs, notamment les lois sur la conscription et le nombre d'unités en cours de constitution.
Usines Usines
Les usines regroupent les usines militaires, les chantiers navals et les usines civiles prêts à recevoir de nouveaux ordres. Leurs rôles sont décrits plus bas dans cette page.
Expérience Terrestre terrestre, Navale navale et Aérienne aérienne
Lorsque vos unités combattent (ou s'entraînent, dans le cas des armées) elles obtiennent de l'expérience. L'expérience terrestre peut être mise à profit dans le concepteur de divisions afin de modifier ou d'inventer de nouveaux types de divisions. L'expérience navale et aérienne est utilisée pour modifier les avions et navires, leur conférant ainsi des avantages en terme de vitesse, de puissance de feu, etc.
Convois Convois
Nombre de convois ou de transports de troupes disponibles. Chaque échange de ressources stratégiques nécessite d'utiliser une unité de convoi. Déplacer des unités terrestres sur les mers et océans oblige à allouer des navires de transport. Pour augmenter le nombre de transports disponibles, de nouveaux convois doivent être construits dans le menu de production d'unités.

World tension.png Tension mondiale

Dans le coin supérieur droit de l'écran, le pourcentage situé sous le globe terrestre indique la tension mondiale, mesurant la tension à l'échelle mondiale. Certaines actions diplomatiques et militaires, surtout pour les pays démocratiques et neutres, nécessitent que la tension mondiale ait atteint un certain niveau. La tension mondiale augmente du fait des événements historiques, des déclarations de guerre et de diverses autres actions diplomatiques.

Barre des menus principaux

Qwertyui hotkeys.png

Le drapeau et les 7 boutons gris se trouvant juste en-dessous de la barre supérieure ouvrent directement les menus principaux permettant d'interagir avec le pays. Les raccourcis de ces boutons sont notés dans l'image ci-dessus. Ils correspondent, de gauche à droite, à la première ligne d'un claver QWERTY. Les fenêtres auxquelles ils permettent d'accéder sont détaillés ci-dessous.

Informations sur le pays et développement

En haut à gauche de l'écran est déployé le drapeau de votre pays. Cliquer dessus affiche une vue du statut national. Il s'y trouve le portrait du dirigeant, les soutiens et partis politiques, certaines variables et certains facteurs ayant actuellement un effet pour le pays, ainsi que trois lignes de rubriques permettent d'user de votre poids politique.

L'écran politique.

Vous allez être invité à choisir une priorité nationale pour votre pays. 70 jours sont nécessaires pour atteindre une priorité nationale, au prix d'un point de poids politique par jour. Les priorités nationales sont similaires aux arborescences de recherche technologique d'autres jeux, sauf qu'ici elles sont liées à la gouvernance du pays. Vous pouvez ainsi être décidé de se concentrer sur la croissance industrielle ou, comme c'est le cas pour l'Allemagne dans la plupart des parties, d'étendre les frontières aux dépens des pays voisins. Certaines priorités nationales sont incompatibles entre elles. Par exemple, l'Union soviétique ne peut être alliée avec la Chine et avec le Japon en même temps.

L'arborescence des priorités nationales de l'Italie (cliquer pour agrandir).

Depuis ce menu, vous pouvez également user de poids politique pour changer les lois, ou recruter des conseillers politiques, militaires et industriels. La plupart de ces changements coûtent un minimum de 150 points de poids politique, certains conseillers plus efficaces pouvant coûter jusqu'à 250 points.

Lois et gouvernement

  • Législation sur la conscription : affecte l'importance des réserves disponibles dans le pays.
  • Législation commerciale : affecte la rapidité de la recherche, des usines, et des constructions, ainsi que la quantité de ressources disponibles pour l'exportation.
  • Législation économique : affecte le nombre d'usines consacrées aux biens de consommation, la disponibilité des réserves et la production militaire.

Vous pouvez par ailleurs recruter trois conseillers politiques pour bénéficier d'avantages variés.

Recherche et production

Vous pouvez ajouter un concepteur de chars, un architecte naval, un concepteur d'avions et un concepteur de matériel, soit afin d'obtenir des avantages soit sur la production de ce matériel, soit sur ses caractéristiques au combat.

Vous pouvez également ajouter un groupe industriel ainsi qu'un théoricien pour améliorer certains types de recherches.

Personnel militaire

Vous pouvez ajouter un chef de l'armée de terre, un chef de la marine et un chef de l'armée de l'air pour améliorer la recherche ou les capacités de combat dans leur domaine de compétence. Vous pouvez aussi engager dans le haut commandement jusqu'à trois autres militaires.

L'écran des conseillers politiques.

Research button.png Recherche

Le bouton gris en haut de l'écran, figurant une fiole Erlenmeyer, ouvre le menu de la recherche. Vous pouvez mener jusqu'à trois ou quatre recherches technologiques simultanément. Toutefois, certaines priorités nationales permettent de débloquer des emplacements de recherche supplémentaires.

L'écran de la recherche.

Les recherches sont regroupées sous onze catégories. Chaque pays, quel que soit le scénario joué, démarre la partie avec un niveau technologique et théorique historiquement approprié.

Toutes les arborescences de recherche (sauf les doctrines) sont disposées sur une frise chronologique. Il sera plus long de découvrir une technologie ou une unité avant sa date d'apparition historique que si elle avait été recherchée à la date appropriée, ou ultérieurement. Toutefois, cette pénalité peut être modifiée par certaines priorités nationales.

  • Infanterie : recherche de meilleures armes pour les fantassins et de différents types de divisions d'infanterie. C'est ici que l'infanterie mécanisée, les parachutistes, les fusiliers marins, les chasseurs alpins et autres sont rendus disponibles.
L'écran technologique pour l'infanterie.
  • Soutien : recherche des bataillons de soutien que vous pouvez adjoindre à vos divisions. C'est là que se trouvent le génie, les hôpitaux de campagne, les compagnies de maintenance, etc.
  • Blindés : recherche des chars légers, moyens et lourds, ainsi que de divers modèles de chars basés sur les châssis que vous débloquez.
  • Artillerie : recherche d'armes d'artillerie, antichars et de DCA.
  • Doctrine terrestre : la plupart des grandes puissances débutent avec une doctrine terrestre prédéfinie. Vous pouvez la modifier, mais les diverses doctrines terrestres sont incompatibles entre elles. Selon la doctrine terrestre choisie, les avantages majeurs au combat sont différents.
L'écran des doctrines terrestres.
  • Navale : recherche de navires de guerre, de sous-marins et de convois ou péniches de débarquement plus perfectionnés.
  • Doctrine navale : certaines grandes puissances débutent avec une doctrine navale prédéfinie. Vous pouvez la modifier, mais les diverses doctrines navales sont incompatibles entre elles. Selon la doctrine navale choisie, les avantages majeurs au combat sont différents.
  • Aérien : recherche de différents types de chasseurs et bombardiers, ainsi que leurs variantes embarquées sur les porte-avions.
  • Doctrine aérienne : certaines grandes puissances débutent avec une doctrine aérienne prédéfinie. Vous pouvez la modifier, mais les diverses doctrines aériennes sont incompatibles entre elles. Selon la doctrine aérienne choisie, les avantages majeurs au combat sont différents.
  • Ingénierie : recherche en génie électronique pour les radars (avantages en détection) et les calculateurs (avantages en recherche et chiffrement), et recherches en nucléaire et en fuséologie.
  • Industrie : recherche de moyens d'améliorer la production, la productivité et les capacités d'extraction de matières premières du pays.

Diplomacy button.png Diplomatie

Le bouton gris représentant une main ouverte pour en serrer une autre affiche le menu de la diplomatie. Une liste des pays s'y trouve, ainsi que plusieurs boutons permettant de réduire cette liste.

En cliquant sur un pays avec lequel vous souhaitez entamer des relations, un portrait de son dirigeant s'affiche, avec des informations succinctes sur ses activités. Dans le coin supérieur droit du menu sont affichés deux petits drapeaux avec des flèches : celles-ci indiquent la relation entre les deux pays.

Plusieurs actions peuvent être effectuées depuis le menu diplomatique, si les conditions nécessaires sont vérifiées. Les démocraties, en particulier, n'ont que peu de possibilités d'entreprendre des actions diplomatiques agressives tant que la tension mondiale n'a pas atteint un niveau suffisamment élevé.

Poser le curseur de la souris sur chaque action permet d'afficher une description de l'action, ainsi que les conditions à remplir pour la mener à bien.

Trade button.png Commerce

Le bouton gris représentant une boîte et des flèches arrondies ouvre le menu du commerce. Plusieurs tableaux présentent les principales ressources disponibles, ce dont vous avez besoin, et les partenaires commerciaux potentiels.

Il existe six ressources principales dans le jeu : le pétrole, le caoutchouc, l'aluminium, l'acier, le chrome et le tungstène. Elles sont utilisées pour la construction des chars, des cuirassés, des avions, etc. Chaque nouvelle ligne de production d'un armement majeur nécessitera une certaine quantité de ressources. Même s'il est possible de construire ces unités sans les ressources nécessaires, la production sera alors plus lente et moins efficace.

L'écran du commerce.

Les ressources sont réparties en différents lieux de la carte, sans être réparties uniformément. Il vous faudra presque toujours faire des échanges pour obtenir ce dont vous avez besoin.

Pour obtenir une ressource par le biais du commerce, il suffit de cliquer sur le nom du pays producteur et de déplacer le curseur pour déterminer la quantité importée. Les ressources sont échangées par 8 unités. Chaque unité importée, sauf s'il s'agit d'un commerce par voie terrestre, nécessite au moins 2 convois.

4 ressources importée coûtent également une Usine civile usine civile. Cette capacité de production ira au pays avec qui vous échangez. De ce fait, les exportations renforceront votre industrie, car vous obtiendrez des capacités de production d'autres pays ; à l'inverse, de nombreuses importations vous affaibliront. Toutefois, vous aurez besoin d'importer ces ressources pour continuer à faire tourner la machine de guerre.

Construction button.png Constructions

Le bouton gris représentant une grue ouvre le menu des constructions. C'est ici que les tâches sont affectées aux Usines civiles usines civiles : construction d'infrastructures, de nouvelles usines, de défenses, etc.

Ce sont ces usines civiles qui réalisent toutes les améliorations d'un territoire. Le nombre d'usines pouvant être construites dépend de la superficie du pays, du nombre d'usines dédiées à la production de biens de consommation (via la Législation économique), et du nombre d'usines « échangées » contre des ressources stratégiques. Il est possible d'augmenter le nombre d'usines civiles en en construisant davantage ; attention toutefois, car chaque province ne peut abriter qu'un certain nombre de structures de production. Quinze usines au maximum peuvent être consacrées à un projet de construction ; toute usine encore libre sera donc consacrée à la production suivante dans la liste.

Constructions screen.jpg

Les usines civiles permettent de construire trois types de structures.

Bâtiments des États

  • Infrastructure : chaque État possède un certains nombre d'infrastructures, qui détermine l'approvisionnement des troupes s'y trouvant et la vitesse de déplacement des unités militaires le traversant.
  • Bases aériennes : elles abritent les avions militaires. Plus la base est grande, plus elle peut abriter d'avions.
  • Installations antiaériennes : elles défendent l'État contre les avions ennemis, ce qui est particulièrement utile pour protéger les régions industrielles.
  • Stations radar : elles aide l'armée de l'air à détecter et intercepter les attaques aériennes ennemies.

Bâtiments partagés

La quantité de structures partagées qu'il est possible de construire est limitée par le nombre d'emplacements disponibles au sein de l'État. Ce nombre peut toutefois être augmenté par certaines technologies industrielles.

Bâtiments provinciaux

  • Bases navales : améliorent les limites de ravitaillement à l'étranger et la vitesse de réparation des navires
  • Forts terrestres : améliorent la défense des unités
  • Forts côtiers : améliorent la défense contre les attaques amphibies

Les bâtiments provinciaux sont construits sur la plus petite unité territoriale de HoI4, la province.

Production button.png Production

Le bouton gris représentant une clé à molette ouvre le menu de la production. C'est là que les Military factoryusines militaires et les Naval dockyardchantiers navals permettent de construire du matériel, des véhicules militaires, des navires et des avions.

Plus d'usines sont affectées à la production d'un objet spécifique, pour la production est importante. Les unités blindées, d'infanterie et d'artillerie produites seront ensuite affectées aux divisions militaires appropriées, soit à celles nouvelles recrutes, soit en tant que renforts ou améliorations des unités se trouvant sur le terrain. Les avions produits sont mis en réserve. Les navires sont automatiquement placés dans un port. Si vous le souhaitez, ils peuvent être affectés à un port particulier.

La production des usines dépend de la disponibilité de ressources stratégiques pour les unités avancées, et de la limite d'efficacité de l'industrie. Les nouvelles lignes de production mettent du temps à atteindre leur efficacité optimale. En outre, ajouter des usines à une ligne de production lui fait perdre en efficacité. La productivité et l'efficacité de vos usines peuvent être améliorées par le biais de l'arborescence de recherche Industrie.

Deployment button.png Recrutement et déploiement

Le bouton gris représentant un char ouvre le menu du planificateur d'armée, qui permet de recruter et déployer des unités. C'est ici que vous sélectionnez les types de divisions que vous voulez entraîner. Ces divisions sont composées du matériel et des véhicules que vous construisez dans le menu Production. Placer le curseur de la souris sur la barre de progression verte permet de voir les éléments nécessaires pour terminer de recruter une nouvelle unité.

Recruitment screen.jpg

En début de partie, seules quelques divisions par défaut peuvent être recrutées. De l'expérience terrestre peut être dépensée pour concevoir de nouveaux modèles de divisions, ou pour modifier des modèles déjà existants.

Par défaut, les renforts et les améliorations ont la même priorité que le recrutement de nouvelles unités. Si vous préférez envoyer les nouveaux chars et la nouvelle artillerie aux troupes en cours de recrutement plutôt qu'à celles déjà déployées, c'est dans ce menu que vous pouvez régler la priorité du renfort.

Logistics button.png Logistique

Le bouton gris représentant une feuille et un stylo ouvre le menu de la logistique. Il fournit un aperçu général du matériel en réserve ou éventuellement manquant, ainsi qu'un compte-rendu des pénuries en ressources stratégiques pour les lignes de production.

User interface

From Hearts of Iron 4 Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The user interface of Hearts of Iron IV will be immediately familiar to veterans of Paradox strategy games. The left hand of the screen will be used to manage large national issues, alert tabs will appear at the top of the screen as a warning of things that need attention, and the right hand side of the screen will be devoted to information about troops. The very top border of the screen will include important summary information about the state of the game and the world.

Top Information Bar[edit]

Across the top left to center of the main play screen, there is a row of numbers running from left to right.

National unityNational unity
The measure of a nation's war-resolve. A country with low national unity will surrender more quickly than one with high National Unity. National Unity is determined by National Spirit traits that can be assigned to certain countries (France, for example, starts with very low NU), but it can be modified through National Focus choices or recruiting government officials to modify it.
Political powerPolitical power
This is the amount of political capital the nation's leadership has accumulated. Political power can be spent on completing national focus ideas, recruiting military and scientific advisors, changing trade and conscription laws, and some diplomatic actions. Each nation gets 2 points of political power per day, modified by certain traits, individuals, player actions or characteristics.
ManpowerManpower
The number of men available to create and reinforce military units. This is affected by a number of factors, primarily mobilization laws and the number of units under construction.
FactoriesFactories
Three separate numbers, listing the military factories, naval dockyards and civilian factories available for new orders. We will deal with their roles in a future section.
ArmyArmy, NavyNavy and Air experienceAir experience
As units fight or, in the case of armies, exercise, they will gain experience. Army experience can be spent in the unit designer to edit or invent land divisions. Naval and air experience can be spent on modifications for ships and planes, giving them bonuses to speed, firepower, and so on.
ConvoysConvoys
The number of convoys or transports that are available. Each trade for strategic resources requires the allocation of a convoy unit. Moving land units across oceans and seas requires an allocation of transports. The number of available transports can be increased by building new convoys in the unit production menu.

World tension[edit]

To the upper right of the screen there is a glowing circle with a percentage below it, indicating the world tension. This percentage is the measure of how much tension is in the world. Some diplomatic and military actions, especially for democratic or neutral nations, require the world tension to reach a specific level. World tension is increase by historic events, declarations of war, and other hostile diplomatic actions.

Main Menu Bar[edit]

Qwertyui hotkeys.png

The Flag and 7 grey buttons just underneath the top bar provide direct access to the primary menus that are used to interact with the country. The hotkeys for these menu buttons are noted above. They follow, from left to right, across the top row of the keyboard. The windows they open are detailed below.

National information and development[edit]

To the far left of the screen the player nation's flag is shown. Click this flag to open a view of national status. This view shows a portrait of the nation's leader, political support and parties, some active variables and factors for the nation, and three rows of items that political power can be spent on.

Political screen.

There will be a prompt to choose a national focus for the country. It takes 70 days to complete a national focus, and it costs one political power point per day. National Focuses are similar to research tech trees in other games, except they are connected with choices the country is making about its direction. It may choose to, for the moment, focus on industrial growth, or, in the case of Germany in most games, push for expanding its borders at the expense of its neighbors. Some National Focus choices are mutually exclusive; the Soviet Union cannot be friends with both China and Japan.

National focus tree of Italy. (Click to enlarge.)

From this menu, it is also possible to spend political power on changing government laws or hiring political, military and industrial advisors. Most changes will cost a minimum of 150 political power, very powerful advisors may cost up to 250.

Government:[edit]

  • Conscription law: affects how much manpower is available to the country
  • Trade law: affects research speed, factory and construction speed and how many resources are available to be traded
  • Economy law: affects how many factories are dedicated to consumer goods, manpower availability, and military production

There will also be space for three political advisors that can be hired to give the country bonuses

Production and research[edit]

There are multiple things that can be added, such as a tank designer, ship designer, aircraft designer and material designer to earn bonuses to either production of the relevant weapon system, or affect its combat abilities.

It is possible to add an industrial concern or a theorist to improve certain types of research.

Military staff[edit]

It is possible to add a Chief of Army, Chief of Navy and Chief of Air Force to improve research or combat skills in the relevant field. Up to three other members of the high command may be hired.

Political Advisor screen.

Research[edit]

The gray button at the top of the screen marked with a beaker opens the research menu. There will be two to four slots available to research particular technologies, but pursuing specific national focus ideas may unlock additional research slots.

Research screen.

There are eleven categories of research. Each nation starts with an historically appropriate level of technology and theory, depending on the scenario.

All the research trees (except for doctrines) are marked along an historical timeline. Researching a technology or unit before the historic date will take longer than it would if they are researched it at or after the historic date. This penalty may be modified by pursuing certain National Focus ideas.

Infantry: researching better infantry weapons and different types of infantry divisions. This is where mechanized infantry, paratroopers, marines, mountain troops and so on will be unlocked.

Infantry technology screen.

Support: researching support battalions that can attach to divisions. This is where engineers, field hospitals, mechanics, and so on can be found.

Tanks: research light, medium and heavy tanks, as well as variant tanks based on the chassis unlocked.

Artillery: researching artillery, anti-tank and anti-aircraft weapons.

Land doctrine: Most of the great powers will start with an initial land doctrine. It is possible to change this, but all land doctrine paths are mutually exclusive. The land doctrine chosen will assign major land combat bonuses.

Land doctrine screen.

Naval: researching more advanced warships, submarines and convoy/landing craft.

Naval doctrine: Some of the great powers will start with an initial naval doctrine. This may be changed, but all naval doctrine paths are mutually exclusive. The naval doctrine chosen will assign major naval combat bonuses.

Aircraft: researching different types of fighters, attack planes and bombers as well as carrier borne variants.

Air doctrine: Some of the great powers will start with an initial air doctrine. This too may be changed, but all air doctrine paths are mutually exclusive. The air doctrine chosen will assign major air combat bonuses.

Engineering: researching electrical engineering for radars (for detection) and computers (for research and encryption bonuses), as well as researching nuclear and rocket technology

Industry: researching means to improve the efficiency, productivity and resource extraction capabilities of the country.

Diplomacy[edit]

The gray button with a hand ready to be shaken opens the diplomacy menu. Here is a list of nations and a number of filter buttons to narrow down the list. Diplomacy screen.png

After clicking on a nation to interact with, there will be a portrait of its leader, and a little bit of information about what the nation is up to. In the upper right corner of the menu, there will be a couple of tiny flags with arrows indicating the relationship between the two nations.

Interacting with nations through diplomacy.

There are a number of actions that can be taken in the diplomatic menu, provided the requirements are met. Democracies are especially limited in their abilities to undertake aggressive diplomatic actions unless the world tension meter has climbed to a high enough level.

Hover the mouse over each option for a description of the diplomatic action and what conditions must be met.

Trade[edit]

The gray button with box and curved exchange arrows opens the trade menu. There will be a number of tabs and columns listing the major resources available, what is required and possible trading partners.

There are six major resources in the game: oil, rubber, aluminum, steel, chromium and tungsten. These are used to help in the construction tanks, battleships, planes and so forth. Each new production line of a major weapon system will require a certain amount of resources. Though it is possible to build these units without the necessary resources, production will be much slower and less efficient.

Trade screen.

Resources are found in certain locations on the map and are not evenly distributed. Almost always it will be necessary to trade for what is needed.

To trade for a resource, click on the name of the country and move the slider to determine how much is being trading for. Resources are traded in units of 4. Each trade, unless conducted over land, requires a minimum of 2 convoy vessels plus 1 for every additional 4 units of resource.

Every eight units of a resource imported will also cost a civilian factory, with that productive power going to the nation that is being trading with. So, exports will make the country's industry stronger as factory power is pulled from other nations, but a lot of imports will make the country weaker. But it will be necessary to import resources to keep the war machine going.

Constructions[edit]

The gray button with the crane opens the construction menu. This is where tasks will be assigned to the civilian factories - building infrastructure, new factories, defenses, and so on.

Civilian factories make all the improvements to a territory. The number factories available for construction will depend on the size of the nation, how many factories are being dedicated to providing consumer goods for the country (the Economy Law), and how many factories that are “traded” for strategic resources. The number of civilian factories can be increased by building more, but be careful since each province can only support a certain number of factories. A maximum of fifteen factories will be devoted to a construction project, and any left over will work on the next item in the queue.

Construction screen.png

There are three categories of structure that can be built with civilian factories.

State structures:[edit]

  • InfrastructureInfrastructure: Each state has an infrastructure rating that determines how easy it is to supply units in the state and how quickly military units can move through.
  • Air baseAir base: The larger the air base, the more planes it can effectively field. Air bases house military aircraft.
  • Anti-airAnti-air: Defends a state from enemy aircraft, and especially useful to protect industrial areas.
  • Radar stationRadar station: Help the airforce detect and intercept enemy air fleets.

Shared structures:[edit]

  • Military factoryMilitary factory: Used to produce weapons, equipment and vehicles
  • Civilian factoryCivilian factory: Used to produce and improve a nation's military/industrial capacity
  • Synthetic refinerySynthetic refinery: Produce synthetic oil and rubber, especially useful to nations that lack either
  • Naval dockyardNaval dockyard: Used to produce ships and convoys. Can only be built in coastal states.
  • Rocket siteRocket site: Locations from which to launch rocket attacks on nearby nations
  • Nuclear reactorNuclear reactor: Produces nuclear weapons

The number of shared structures that can be built is limited by the number of slots available in that State. The number of slots can be increased by researching Industry technologies.

Province buildings:[edit]

  • Naval baseNaval base: Assists in overseas supply limits and ship repair speed
  • Land fortLand fort: Hardens the defense of units
  • Coastal fortCoastal fort: Hardens the defense against amphibious attacks

Province buildings are built on the smallest territory size in HoI4, the province.

Production[edit]

The production screen.

The gray button with the wrench opens the production menu. This is where military factories and dockyards are assigned to build equipment, army vehicles, ships and aircraft.

The more factories dedicated to building a specific item, the more will be produced. Infantry, armor and artillery units made will then be assigned to the appropriate military divisions, either for new units being constructed or reinforcement and upgrades for units in the field. Airplanes produced will be deposited into a reserve pool. Naval units will be automatically placed in a port, though they can be assigned to a specific one if needed.

Factory output is dependent on the availability of strategic resources for higher end units, and on the efficiency cap of the nation's industry. New production lines will take time to be perfectly efficient, and if factories are added to a production line, some efficiency will be lost. Factory productivity and efficiency can be raised in the Industrial research tree.

Recruit and deploy[edit]

The gray button with the tank opens the army planner menu to recruit and deploy units. This is where it is decided what types of divisions are to be trained. These divisions will be filled by the equipment and vehicles built in the production menu. What is required to complete a new unit is shown by hovering over the green progress bars.

Recruitment screen.png

The country starts with a few default divisions that can be built. Army experience can be spent to design new division templates or edit ones that already exist.

The game starts with reinforcement and upgrades given equal weight with the creation of new units. If it is preferable focus the energy of new tanks or artillery on fresh units, instead of trickling equipment to the field, reinforcement priorities can be set on this screen as well.

Logistics[edit]

The gray button with the paper and pen opens the logistics menu. This menu gives an overall summary of stockpiled equipment, whatever shortages the country might have, as well as a rundown of how many strategic resources the country is missing from the production lines.

Logistics Screen[edit]

Logistics screen.

The logistic screen provides the general overview of the nation's equipment and resource situation. The center of the screen consists of the equipment, and only shows equipment that is being produced, stockpiled, or used in the nation. In addition, the equipment will have a green hue to the background if it is land equipment, white if it is air, or blue if it is sea. The following provides a description of all of the various parts of the screen.

  • Average production efficiency, which has a Production efficiency.png above the column, shows the average production efficiency of all the lines of production producing that type of equipment. The yellow bar inside the area represents the average production efficiency.
  • Equipment type, which says 'Equipment Type' above the column, provides the name and a picture of the equipment that is either being produced, stockpiled, or used in the nation.
  • Amount produced, which has a wrench being held by a hand above the column, shows how much of that particular equipment is being produced per day.
  • Status is the green bar next to the amount produced showing how much of the equipment need is being produced. There is also a slider button that lays on the left if the nation is running a surplus of that equipment each day, and on the right if the nation is running a deficit of that equipment each day.
  • Need, with a hand at the top of the column, is how much of that equipment the nation needs each day.
  • Balance is the surplus or deficit being ran each day by the country, represented by a scale at the top of the column. If the nation is running a surplus, it will say +Amount, but if it is running a deficit, -Amount.
  • Stored is the stockpile of the nation. It will be in green with the stockpiled amount if the nation has extra of that equipment, and will show red with the amount missing from the nation, such as the amount needed to reinforce, equip new units, or, for convoys, how much is needed for current trade.
  • Resources shows the resources that the production line is currently using to produce that equipment. If none of that equipment is being produced, it will not show the resources.

The bottom of the screen includes extra information.

  • Military factories has a green bar indicating the percentage of the nation's military factories that are currently in use.
  • Naval dockyards, like military factories to the left of it, shows the percentage of the country's naval dockyards that are in use.
  • The six icons to the right hand corner show oil, rubber, steel, aluminum, tungsten, and chromium. Next to each icon will be either a green number showing the nation's surplus of that resource, or a red negative number showing that nation's deficit of the resource.

Stockpile Screen[edit]

Stockpile screen.

The stockpile screen is accessed by clicking on any of the equipment on the logistics screen. The graph in the center of the screen shows the change in the stockpile over the previous 30 days, 12 months, or 7 years, each of which have a corresponding button above the graph. The change is represent by a red line, and the X-axis of the graph is the time variable, while the Y-axis is the stockpile variable. Below that is a mini overview of the equipment, which shows the variants of that equipment (i.e. Basic Infantry Equipment vs. Weapons I) and the amount stored of each variant and weekly production of each variant.